And the Winners are...

Liberal Writing Competition
Liberal Writing CompetitionFNF South Asia

It’s been a tough time of anticipation for all those who participated in the essay writing competition about what it means to be liberal in India. It’s been a tough time also for the judges, who went through all the writings with great scrutiny and, in the end, had to come up with the names of the very best authors. “We tried to do justice to every single of the nearly 400 essays as much as we could”, said the Regional Director of the Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom Dr. Ronald Meinardus who was one of the judges and – who as a relative novice to India – enjoyed reading the texts. “I learned an awful lot about liberalism in this country”, he said.

The judges have taken the final decision on the winners. While initially they had agreed 15 texts would be honored, they increased this number to 18 in their final session.

Here now are the names of these 18 winners in alphabetical order:

  • Barath Balaji
  • Cherry Chauhan
  • Chinmay Lal Thakur
  • Diwakar Sharma
  • Harish Alagappa
  • Harshita Lall
  • Jash Dhaloni
  • Kalyani Subbhia
  • Karthik Shankar
  • Prakhar Misra
  • Prashant Bhat
  • Reijul Sachdev
  • Sreyoshi Guha
  • Tanmayi Gidh
  • Utkarsh Srivastava
  • Vageesha
  • Vaishnavi Ray
  • Vani Manchanda

The Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom wishes to congratulate the winners. At the same time, we hasten to thank all the participants and encourage them to keep up writing and arguing for liberal values and principles.

We will notify every winner individually by email. The winners will also be invited to the launching ceremony of the book with their essays to take place in New Delhi in early 2016. It is on that festive occasion that we will also announce the name of the number one winner, who would be invited to travel to Germany to participate in a liberal workshop there.